President’s Message

Attendees of the 2015 Gala Dinner.Dear Friend:

On this website you will find an invitation from the Board of Directors for membership in The Thomas More Society of America. In an effort to achieve more thoughtful consideration of alternatives in this world, and the further development of wills to support good and oppose evil, we have sought an education of our respective consciences since our founding in 1979. Toward this worthwhile end, we reflect on the life, times, writings, conversations and death of Thomas More, a man who practiced well what he believed.

I hope you will take a few moments to consider joining us (or rejoining us) as we continue in our efforts to keep alive and promote a wider understanding of Thomas More, his values and the example he set. In the past those efforts have included:

The Luncheon Lecture Series which features prominent speakers setting out how More’s principles and More himself are models to be followed and applied in a troubled world. Past speakers have included:

Dr. Georgia Keightly, Reverend Paul Hewett, Father Gerald McKevitt, Ambassador Walter Cutler, Father Robert Kennedy, Fr. Edward Ingebretsen, SJ, Dr. Clarence H. Miller, Abbe Marc’hadour, Dr. Katherine Rodgers, Professor Gerard Wegemer, Professor Robert Coogan, Fr. Austin T. Walsh, S.T., Dean Bernard Dobranski, Professor Eamon Duffy, Sister Anne O’Donnell, Rev. John W. Crossin, OSFS, Professor Patrick Collinson, Professor Anne Lake Prescott, Dr. Virgil Nemoianu, Rev. Sidney H. Griffith, S.T., Dr. Gerard Wegemer, Dr. Michael Mack, Dean Douglas Kmiec, Kenneth Pennington, Ph.D., Barry Carter, Honorable Edward J. Damish, Rev. Daniel P. Coughlin, A.G. Harmon, Rev. Gerald P, Fogarty, S.J., Ph.D., Dr. Anne M. Murphy, SHCJ, Father John Adams, Professor George E. Garvey, Carter Snead, Patrick Conroy, Jane Belford, John A. Boehner, Hon. William Bennett, Charles Krathhamer, Judge Robert Bork.

cardsScholarships to area youth striving to understand and incorporate More’s teachings into their own thoughts, characters and lives.

The Annual Dinner, a festive occasion, which celebrates More’s achievements in writing, scholarship, diplomacy, theology and service. Past speakers have included: Father Edward Malloy, Dean Ralph Rohner, Michael Novak, Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia, Dr. Edmund Pelligrino, Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas, Judge Thomas F. Hogan, Honorable Kenneth W. Starr, Honorable Louis J. Freeh, Timothy J. May, Esquire, George Weigel, Robert Novak, Chief Justice Warren Burger, Dinesh D’Souza and Robert Novack.

I urge you to join us at our events and to fill out the contact form so that we can keep you informed of the Society’s activities. I urge you to become a member and celebrate with us the life of More and the example he brought to his time that remains relevant today. As G. K. Chesterton wrote in 1905: “Sir Thomas More is more important at this moment than any moment since his death, but he is not quite so important as he will be in a hundred year’s time.”


Austin Lipari

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *